Look, a microphone…

Magic orb

Ths is the full version of the image in the header. I created it two years ago, when I was testing the software Blender, a free open source 3D modeling software. I completed the image adding a flare effect with Gimp, the the GNU Image Manipulation Program.

The idea is a classic of the fantasy genre: a powerful orb placed on the top of a strange talon-like base.

I’m not very good at 3D modeling, but i was really proud of a sword I created many years ago. I was working at the full scene, the sword stuck in the ground in front of a magic dolmen, when a girl (passing behind me) said “What is that, a microphone?”. Sad.

Blender is a little tricky to use, but skilled people can create good images with it.

Creative Commons License
Content is released under Creative Commons License.

Leave a Reply

