Louvain method – bugged (?)

If you, like me, are trying to use the improved source code for the Louvain method, you may encounter the same bug I stumbled into. I compiled it on a plain Ubuntu machine and even using the sample graph raises a segmentation fault.

Valgrind showed that the program writes beyond the end of an array.

I don’t know if it is a bug, a problem of moving code from C to C++ or a change in the underlying implementation of std::vector occurred after the original source code was distributed.

However, if you need the patch, write me a line. I’m going to contact the original author to tell him about the problem (and the possible solution, if this is an actual bug and not a problem with g++).

8 comments on “Louvain method – bugged (?)

  1. Gaurav Tuli says:

    Hi,
    I am getting the same error while checking the community code on a sample (small network). Please let me know once you get to hear from the authors.

    Thanks,
    Gaurav

  2. Paneerdas says:

    can you send me the revised code?

  3. liu says:

    I’ve also encountered the same problem again and again.
    If you have a solution, can you please send me the patch?
    Thank you

  4. Ruhan says:

    Hi Giuseppe,

    I have the same problem with the original implementation.

    Though, I would like to know your implementation because I would like to use it in C or C++.

    Could you send your own version to me?

Leave a Reply

